Dreams do come true

Standard

Since the year that I have full grasp of what’s happening around me, there are two things that God never failed to show me and remind me that October 8 is my birthday — One, it shall be a RAINY DAY and two, there will always be a SURPRISE– and indeed, it happened again. It’s my birthday!

A little while just before 10.08.11 ends…let’s travel back on the day it has been…

Tucked in bed before midnight of the 8th. I think I’m sort of insomniac so I can hardly get myself to sleep so I just tried to close my eyes, listen to the rain (remember RAIN) outside and wait for my consciousness to slowly wander in dreamland.

Then my almost 2 year old Corby rang. An international call from a special friend, a best friend in the making. 🙂 Greetings were the introduction of course, yet a few minutes left so we waited, chatted and welcomed my annual big day! Actually it’s our first time to really communicate on my birthday, first happy time. It has always been a special day for me to celebrate, and receiving warm wishes from friends and loved ones are priceless gifts I will always treasure. That 15 minute call was of course (aside from overseas) a treasured one…After that call, I went to my first conversation with God as a 26-yr old ‘young’ lady. Those 10 minutes or more talk with Him is really the greatest start of my new year…and He knows already everything inside me 🙂

Morning. Woke up in the music of Papa’s frying pan, his usual morning routine — breakfast! He is our alarm clock, and you really have to get up! We’re complete so we should dine together! Came next was Mama (after waking up), humming my first birthday song for the day 🙂 Sweet! And of course a few cuddle-cuddle with my one and only sister! (yeah, we do that all the time, and only when we are on a fight do we get irritated when even an inch of skin come close to ours!)

We had breakfast, got the house cleaned up, checked my sites (answered most of your greetings) and took turns on taking a bath. At around 11, we drove off towards Paseo de Sta. Rosa.

Our first stop is at Laguna BelAir to visit the chapel of Our Lady of Perpetual Help, since it’s my first time (our family, actually)…I took it as a gift…and made a wish (as they say, you can wish for something when you enter a church the first time). It was a wide chapel and very cozy, the cool weather even added up to the comfort 🙂 For every special events that I celebrate (even if it’s not really an occasion) I make it to a point to visit my Creator and chat with Him 🙂

After our visit, we head off to grab our lunch! I craved for baby back ribs…remember one of my 26 Dreams? Racks? Oh yeah, we had that! And everybody just loved it! We brought the Blueberry Choco Pudding Cake that was given to me by my Zaiberon boys (Thank you Bro, Nard and Zeik!), and had it for our dessert 🙂 Now I know why it’s a specialty from Taiwan 🙂 Yummy!

Then we strolled around the place til my sister invited the gang to transfer to Nuvali since the place is more scenic, and it’s still early to go home (taking advantage of her day-off from duty). Also to mention, during those times, my sis is constantly taking up calls, I never told her, but I thought “ano ba yan? birthday ko, off nya, trabaho pa rin tumatawag dito”…haha!

And off we went.

It was not too far from Paseo so about 5 minutes we were parked already and found ourselves walking around the resto strip. There’s a man-made lake where you can feed coys and we were trying to make our way there when sis asked me where Conti’s was, so I told her that we just look around for it. Nearly passing by a coffee shop, an empty table caught my attention seeing a balloon arrangement and flowers, while the next table is a couple having their cups, ‘must have been their anniversary’, I thought. My sister whispered to me ‘Ate, may ibang nagbibirthday din ata…tara, picture ka dun (to the balloons and flowers)!’ I told her there are a lot of people around and it’s so funny if i’ll do it, so we just continued on walking to look for the bakeshop. Passing by that coffeeshop, a familiar face walked up to me. And I was stunned…Tito Leo? Then another figured followed. Now I’m even shocked…Mia??? And the next thing, I found that everything on that table was for me…

(remember) SURPRISE!!!

A bouquet of stargazers and yellow buds with a note

A dozen of white roses with ribbons and rolled up papers 

A dozen of red roses with ribbons and rolled up papers

A balloon arrangement with 2 rolled up papers stuck on it

A box of cupcakes with birthday letter-designs

A box of a personalize cake with those 3-word message

And next was a familiar voice over the phone…ok. Shocked! Now I’m asked to read each note in order of sequence…26 things he wanted to tell me on my special day. Sweet and really a labor of (allow me to say) love and commitment 🙂

‘You are such an observer!!!’ Thank You 🙂

What can I say! Somebody stood against my ’26 Dreams on the 26th!’ Genius!

But really, I was in awe and I am really all smiles… 😀

We ended our family outdoor gimik after bidding farewell to Tito Leo and taking Mia to the bus station as she needs to return to Manila.

But hey! it did not end there yet!

Mama and I cooked pasta Carbonara to share my blessings with our tenants…and it’s always a happy feeling for me and a given that I have to impart whatever I have, so there…everybody happy 🙂

Still, today’s music rings through my ears…God’s blessings, your greetings, my family’s stories, laughters, my sweet surprise, and the rain drops on our roof!

Thank you is an understatement…but accept my appreciation for enabling me reach those!

So allow me to run down a few TY’s…Life is too short for dwelling on regrets!!!

My Creator, my Saviour and my God, even before I tell you anything, You know already everything! thanks for the rain and the surprise!

All CJA kababata, UST blockmates, Ateneo Gradschool batchmates/friends, Laguna and Manila friends, Cajucom and Malazarte relatives, Zaiberon partners, UPPC (Phils) and SCG (Thailand) colleagues and mentors, Codeworks and Powerlink team…thanks for remembering and sharing a bit of your time today!

To Tito Leo, Tita Merly and Mia…thank you for being so supportive, kind and loving! Thank you for delivering that special surprise!

To my Papa…I’m happy that at 26 knowing your age, you are still so strong as compared to others.. you will always be my Superman! I love you so much!!!

To my Mama…please take care, I love you so much also that my wish is really for you to be healthier…I still want you to witness my next milestones!

To my ever dearest, one and only sibling, Edel…behind that ‘porky’ nick is my forever role as your ate…even if I’m given a second life, I’ll still choose to have you! I love you!!!

and to Pau…Thank you for leaving me speechless! You really know me that well, huh?…kidding aside, thank you for your efforts on this friendship, for taking the risk and for slowly getting back into the pace…thank you for the sweet surprise. 26 shall be a memorable one 🙂

 

The Dreamer continues to dream…and for as per my perspective,

4 of my 26 dreams have been expressed as part of the dreams of somebody who would want to share them with me…

2 of those are in God’s control…

16 are reachable in time…

Yet 4 of them came true today– the lunch at Racks, the balloons, the flowers…and a great part of the Happy Heart 🙂

Img_0905a

 

Leave a Reply

